Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day!

I am looking for nautical literature, preferably novels please. I am quite new to the genre and quite new to reading. I used to read just those book that were necessary for class but due to some life events I discovered reading for pleasure and how much joy it brings me. Since I am very passionate about ships and everything nautical I would like to read more novels that take action in such cir***stances. What I know about is "MobyDick" by Herman Melville, "Terror" by Dan Simmons, books by Julius Verne. Could you please recommend something more? Time and age doesn't matter whether it takes place in the Ancient times, Renaissance or modern - I will read them all!

Thanks!

·
Registered
703 Posts
Try my Merchant Navy series which you'll find on Amazon. Not novels, but you should find them interesting.

Ian

·
Registered
3,527 Posts
Try "The Birthday Boys" by Beryl Bainbridge, set on Scott's last expedition it interweaves fact with supposition.

·
Registered
1,488 Posts
Historical seafaring books: Hornblower series by C.S. Forester. Bolitho series by Alexander Kent. Modern sea stories by Douglas Reeman (who also wrote the Alexander Kent books) should keep you occupied for years. There are also real and fictionalised books of historical seamen, their exploration and battles. Even Tennyson's ballad poem, "The Revenge," which is certainly dramatic if nothing else. I wish you good reading.

·
Registered
1,488 Posts
Historical seafaring books: Hornblower series by C.S. Forester. Bolitho series by Alexander Kent. Modern sea stories by Douglas Reeman (who also wrote the Alexander Kent books) should keep you occupied for years. There are also real and fictionalised books of historical seamen, their exploration and battles. Even Tennyson's ballad poem, "The Revenge," which is certainly dramatic if nothing else. I wish you good reading.