·
Registered
6,923 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pilotage Lore - A Maritime Education.

What have I learned? Not much. Except, I was a pilot, then,
Serving, and obliged to serve, with many other men:
Privileged, by law, as it created obligation,
And, at the same time, taking pleasure in the situation.

Unique, perhaps, or maybe not. Our lot was self-employed.
Independent. Obligated. All of it enjoyed.
Trusted to provide a service. Reason we were paid.
A necessary evil in protection of all trade.

Difficult and dangerous? Yes, all of that, for sure,
Where knowledge saved the day for all concerned. That is for sure.
Uniforms and braids of gold? Not much, I do not think.
Not much saves a pilot if he falls into the drink.

Answerable? Yes, of course. He’s not above the law,
Yet given due protection in the role he’s licensed for.
Privileged to supersede a man unqualified;
A privilege maintained since last the state chose to decide.

A pilot is a child of statute. That is what I am:
And so are you; and so were all our ancestors, quondam.
Bound we are by something which is better, far, to hide:
It comes before a fall. It is the foolish thing called pride.

BY

·
Registered
3,527 Posts
Beautiful words Barrie, it is sad that those who have had no professional association with the sea have no appreciation of a Pilot's skills, training or obligations.

·
Registered
6,923 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Very many thanks Duncan.

Pride is a paradox. We were all - in any and every walk of life- brought up to take a pride in doing things properly - and at the same time learned that pride is a sin which comes before a fall. Am still trying to work it out!

Perhaps the cardinal sin is to wear one's pride on one's sleeve - as I have done here!

·
Registered
3,527 Posts

Very many thanks Duncan.