Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seeking stories and experiences of Ship jumpers for PhD research
Can you help me? I am a PhD student hoping to find valuable information and possible interview subjects for my PhD on ship jumpers.

My name is Dean Broughton, as the son of a long-serving seafarer who worked on British and New Zealand ships for over fifty years I take a personal and academic interest in Merchant Navy history. I am in the second year of a PhD at Victoria University of Wellington exploring the experiences of ship jumpers in New Zealand from 1945 through to the 1990s.

With the help of Police Gazettes and nostalgic shipping sites. I have conducted extensive archival research into ship jumping. The theme of my research is to investigate the experiences of ship jumpers and the creation of a maritime immigrant group in New Zealand. With this message today, I hope to generate interest in my project and solicit stories and experiences of ship jumping. There has been great interest within the Academic and public environment as to why this subject has not been written about and it is highly likely that the subject of my PhD will become a book.

Oral interviews will be a vital component of the evidence for this project along with. evidence of motivations for ship jumping, experiences networks connections, stories of capture, do***ents records photos evidence of interaction with authorities’ police etc. anything else anyone can think of that they might think pertinent to my project. The time now seems right to highlight this important aspect of New Zealand history