Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Super Moderator
26,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have come across one of the books I studied when taking my lifeboat ticket. This is the second edition of the book printed in 1971. So to get the brain cells going, what lifeboat equipment do you think is listed in this book. Motor or mechanically propelled lifeboats were minus a few things as I would assume the lifeboats of today, and the accident boat during my era had a few extras. But in general, what items do you think are on this list?. David

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
David, Will leave this to others. When you have the answers, please let's know what the book you used is. I have the one I used, a 12th Edition with amendments, 4th reprint dated 1972. The 1st edition was Oct 1950.
Dennis. (Read)

·
Super Moderator
26,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will let you know which book later Dennis. I did not give the name knowing others may have it and copy from it?!. David

·
Super Moderator
26,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Will check answers later. Giving free taxi service to granddaughter this afternoon. david

·
Registered
532 Posts
Tins of barley sugar for one. Often got nicked. Water of course. Biscuits, Whistle, Flashlight, Axe, Compass. Other stuff, but I forget, too long ago.
Almost 60 years since I done my lifeboat course at the Vindi.

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
lifeboat equipment

Water,hardtack biscuits,fishing line+hook,torch,compass,nestles milk don't know how you would get it out of the can if it was arctic conditions,mast +sails,oars,bailer,choclate,barley sugar sweets,tin opener,heliograph,flares. (Read)

·
Registered
13,475 Posts
dom

how far are you going back? oars crutchs boat hook plugs bailer rudder axes matches mast sail tourch heliograph whistle fishung kit painters compass sea anchour oil flares

·
Registered
4,530 Posts