Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am an author writing a novel with a young man voyaging on a cargo freighter. He embarks in June, 1966, on a vessel that's about a decade away from being sold for scrap. Old and seaworn.

I'm ideally looking for a real vessel that I can model my fictional one from, so that I will have accurate details about its construction, its engine(s), the route it might have taken (it needs to go through the Panama canal on a voyage to Asia).

If anyone has suggestions, ideally to a vessel that has photos, that would be very helpful. Fingers crossed and thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Sorry I can't suggest a ship. Maybe you have chosen a difficult era and a difficult route. I think that most cargo ships going from Europe to Asia went and still go via Suez or the Cape and NOT via Panama.....which route is longer and
passes fewer centres of population where business may be found. If you were to set the story a decade earlier, in the 1950s, before container ships became dominant, you might well find a tramp steamer wandering along that roundabout way to Asia. MessageriesMaritimes, the French equivalent of P&O, had a line from Maresilles to Australia via Algiers, Maderia, the French and Dutch West Indies, Panama, the Marquesas, Tahiti, the New Hebridies and New Caledonia and they ran both cargo ships and cargo-passenger ships on that route. Sometimes their ships returned to Marseilles via French Indochina (Saigon and Haiphong), Singapore, Colombo and Suez, sometimes even detouring to Reunion and Madagscar. This all ended when France left Indochina in the late 1950s and when MM withdrew from Asia in the 1960s. There is a great site at www.messageries-maritimes.org with lots of details and photos of 150 years of MM ships and personnel. You might get some ideas from it.

·
Registered
409 Posts
Motor Vessel Shaftesbury