Ships Nostalgia banner
1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Hi Everyone

I only joined the forum yesterday so I'm not very good at using the site yet - not sure I ever will be!!! but I would like to ask all tug enthusiasts if they have any photos of either Lady Moira, Lady Constance or Salvageman as my Father-in-law was on them years ago - he retired 12 years ago now! I have found a few in the gallery. Or any news/stories to do with United Towing as I am trying to put together a photobook - it would be great if I could get some more photos! I know he went to the Faulklands in 1982 on the Salvageman but I can't seem to find any footage - didn't they warrant a proper send-off?

Thanks, Elaine

·
Registered
758 Posts
Hi Elaine,
I done a gallery photo search for SALVAGEMAN and all the photos are available for your viewing at this location
http://www.shipsnostalgia.com/gallery/search.php?searchid=58114
Good luck, never let it be said that us Grey Funnel types were unable to rush to help a member of our favorite sex(Frogger)
AB

·
ex-Denholm Moderator
9,820 Posts
Moved post

Elaine,

I've moved this post from "Hello" to the "Tug" category.

See, you are already getting a response to your request.

Don't worry, you'll get the hang of things before long - we all make mistakes, believe me! (Thumb)

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
Hello Elaine
I sailed with a Cyril Reibbitt on the tugs for United Towing, any relation? he was mainly skipper on the harbour tugs although he did occasionally do coastal or oil rig moving work. That was a long time ago and he must be well retired by now. I spent thirteen years with UTC, my father and brothers were skippers with them.
Ray Jordan

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
Peteb