Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie and have never served in the Royal Navy. Doing research on my father. When a Petty Officer becomes an Acting then Temporary Chief Petty Officer, what uniform does he wear (ie that of a P.O. or a C.P.O.)? If he still wears the uniform of his substantive rank ie P.O., how does anyone know he is now 'senior'?

·
Premium Member
11,607 Posts
I would guess that the uniform changes from Acting ior Temporary to CPO. If it is a very short period, probably nothing. The uniform is the same, it is just the marking that makes the difference. The PO wears double anchor as well as 'the chevron' on the upper arm. If CPO he would not wear the badhes but instead just the three buttons on the cuff. Easy enough to do a bit of sewing.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My Dad was an Acting CPO for nearly 4 years (1940-44) before he became a Temp CPO (Oct 1944) then CPO (Nov 1944). So for the 4 years, do you think he would have still worn the PO double anchor? I'm trying to assemble the badges, chevrons and ratings patches he would have worn in year order. Since he got his third GC chevron in August 1941 (when he was an Acting CPO), I'm trying to figure out if he would have actually worn the three chevrons (as CPOs didn't wear them ). Thanks ever so much for your interest.

·
Premium Member
11,607 Posts
CPO.... see photo. Three buttons on cuff. No double anchor or chevrons. (These are WW2 uniform.)

Petty Officer. Double anchor and with chevrons. (Again, WW2 uniform)

·
Premium Member
11,607 Posts
Chevrons. I should have remembered the correct name... being an ex P.O., Sea Cadets. The correct name is the iis the 'Good Service Badge'.

Here is the following: